Monday, May 23, 2011

Echo Night

Echo Night
Developer - From Software
Publisher – Agetec
Release date - July 31, 1999

Echo Night is a mystery adventure video game developed by From Software. It is the first game in the Echo Night series, following up with the Japan-exclusive Echo Night 2: The Lord of Nightmares in 1999, and Echo Night: Beyond in 2004.


The story revolves around Richard Osmond, the game's protagonist, and his journey to find out what happened to the ship Orpheus, which mysteriously disappeared from the sea. The story also uncovers the mystery about two stones that contain some kind of supernatural power.

The game starts with Richard at his apartment receiving a call from the Anchor Police Department regarding his father, Henry Osmond. Summoned to his father's house, Richard discovers his father's diary, which leads him to a train. He will meet at the train a man named Henry Osmond who is actually trying to pursue William Rockwell who according to Henry is being possessed by the Red Stone that is attached to a knife.

There are 4 different endings in the game.


Echo Night is played from a first-person perspective, but unlike most other first-person games there is no use of firearms in the game. When confronted by a ghost the player must turn on the lights in the room by means of a light switch. The player is often transported into the past via the passengers or certain objects. Once the player fulfills a task important to a spirit they will vanish and drop an "Astral Piece" which can be used to get a different ending scene.

No comments:

Post a Comment