Friday, June 3, 2016

Evolution of Guilty Gear: 1998 To 2016 - Page 1 of 2

Guilty Gear is a competitive fighting game series developed by Arc System Works. The first game in the series was published in 1998. The Guilty Gear series has spawned several sequels and spin-offs.

Guilty Gear

Developer - Arc System Works
Release date - October 31, 1998

Guilty Gear features ten playable characters available from the start of the game. Each character have their own different fighting styles and special abilities. Some of the characters are armed with weapons,  while some only fight using their bodies. Aside from the initial ten playable characters, the player can unlock three additional hidden characters. The unlock characters can only be used in the games Versus Mode.

Guilty Gear is set in 2180, in a bleak future in which its present time has just recovered from a 100-year-war against man-made bio-organic weapons called Gears. A Gear named Testament begins a plan to resurrect Justice, the Commander Gear who has the power to control the Gears, and wipe out the human race. Fearing this threat, the Union of Nations begins a fighting tournament called "The Second Sacred Order" in order to find fighters who would be able to defeat Testament and the coming revival of Justice, giving the winner the prize of being able to acquire anything they desire.


Guilty Gear features three modes, Arcade Mode, Versus Mode and Training Mode. After selecting one of the ten playable characters, the player must defeat an enemy in battle by winning two out of three rounds. This game uses a six-button layout: four of which are responsible for the attacks; one punch, one kick, and the other two for weapon attacks, and the other two for special actions. Guilty Gear also features instant kill techniques that, if successfully lands on an opponent, ends the match.

Guilty Gear uses a tension gauge, which fills up when the character gets hit or takes damage. When the gauge is full, the characters become stronger and can input certain commands to activate special-moves called Chaos Attacks. The game has a feature called Chaos Mode that is activated when a character's health is at the half-way point (yellow bar). A red aura will surround the character and enables them to perform unlimited Chaos Attacks.

Guilty Gear X
Developer - Arc System Works
Release date - July 2000


Guilty Gear X has sixteen playable characters. Fourteen are available from the outset, the remaining two are unlockable.

Guilty Gear X continues the first game's plot, in which the world has just recovered from a 100-year war against man-made bio-organic weapons known as Gears. When Testament planned to resurrect Gear leader Justice, all Gears were annihilated in a tournament. Guilty Gear X is set less than a year later, a new Gear commander named Dizzy is discovered. Amid concern about a second war, another Holy Knights Tournament begins; whoever captures and kills Dizzy will receive 500,000 World Dollars.


The fight system has a four-main-attack-button configuration: punch, kick, slash and heavy slash. Players may also launch taunt attacks, with their main objective to reduce the opponent's health to zero in a predetermined time. To win a fight a player must accumulate two points, with each round won earning a point. Guilty Gear X has features common in fighting games: combos, aerial attacks and counterattacks. A new feature is the Roman Cancel, which allows a player to cancel their move and its aftereffects to make other attacks.

The game has a tension gauge, increasing when a character causes damage or moves toward an adversary and decreasing when a character moves backwards or is stopped for a long time. When the gauge is half-charged a player can use specials called Overdrive Attacks, which cause more damage than regular moves. A full gauge allows a player to make an Instant Kill, defeating an opponent regardless of health; if an Instant Kill is unsuccessful, the tension gauge will not charge for the remainder of that round.

Guilty Gear X's Dreamcast version includes four modes of play: Arcade, Survival, Training and Versus.

Guilty Gear Petit
Developer - Arc System Works
Release date - January 25, 2001

Guilty Gear Petit is the first handheld version of the Guilty Gear series released on the WonderSwan Color.
The game depicts the Guilty Gear characters in a super deformed style. It is also notable for the inclusion of the character Fanny, who appears only in the two Guilty Gear Petit games.

The game has seven playable characters, six of which are from other Guilty Gear series games. The game was only released in Japan.

Guilty Gear Petit 2
Developer - Arc System Works
Release date - September 27, 2001

Guilty Gear Petit 2 was released eight months after the first.

The game has 13 regular characters and 2 secret characters.

The game was only released in Japan for the WonderSwan Color.

Guilty Gear X2, Also known as Guilty Gear XX
Developer - Arc System Works
Release date - May 23, 2002

Guilty Gear X2 features twenty-three playable characters. Twenty of them are available from outset, 3 are unlockable secret characters.


The game picks up the story approximately two weeks after the events of Guilty Gear X. A new organization called Post-War Administration Bureau is looking for and destroying Gears, descendants of Japanese, and those who are able to use qi energy in combat. To achieve their goals the organization has created several copies of Ky Kiske, the Robo-Kys. In addition, I-No sparks conflict as she wants to destroy all she perceived threats to her master, "That Man", the creator of the Gears. Each character provides a different ending to Guilty Gear X2.


The fighting system works around a four main attack button configuration, consisting of punch, kick, slash, and heavy slash. Additional buttons allow the player to perform taunts, and throw enemies in the air. When a character causes damage or moves toward its adversary, a tension gauge charges. However, when a character moves backwards or uses defensive moves often, its tension gauge is reduced. Once a character's gauge is filled, a Super Mode can be engaged. When a character is in this state, super moves called Overdrive Attacks, or a variety of special techniques—"Instant Kill", "Faultless Defense," "Dead Angle Attacks" or "Roman Cancels"—can be performed.

Guilty Gear X2 adds a new feature to the series: a burst gauge, which is fulfilled as the player causes or receives damage. By pressing buttons in combination, the player character jump and unleash a blast of energy—a Psyche Burst. It allows the player to break combinations and super moves in the middle of the opponent's offensive. Also, if the blast hit the adversary, the tension gauge is filled to its maximum capacity immediately.

Guilty Gear X2 offers eight modes: Arcade, Survival, M.O.M. (an acronym for Medal of Millionaires), Mission, Story, Trainning, Versus 2P and Versus CPU. In addition to those modes, there is a gallery with artworks, character endings, and cut scenes that are unlocked by playing Arcade, Mission and Story Mode.

Guilty Gear XX updated versions.

This game received updated versions for several platforms: Guilty Gear XX #Reload (2003), Guilty Gear XX Slash (2005), Guilty Gear XX Accent Core (2006), Guilty Gear XX Accent Core Plus (2008), and Guilty Gear XX Accent Core Plus R (2012). Each update served to the company to perform adjustments comparing to the previous versions and was published in different platforms and regions.

Next Page >

No comments:

Post a Comment